Anthropic’s Max subscription tiers may offer a much smaller difference in weekly usage than their 5x and 20x labels suggest. A post by @kimmonismus says Anthropic’s pricing language compares Max usage with Pro on a per-five-hour-session basis, while the plans also have separate weekly caps. The post cites a proposed class action filed in June that alleges Max 5x provides roughly 3.5 times Pro’s weekly usage and Max 20x provides only 6–8 times, making the $200 tier about twice—not four times—the weekly allowance of the $100 tier.
The multipliers describe different time windows
The pricing language quoted in the post says users can choose 5x or 20x more usage than Pro. Further down, that wording specifies that the multipliers apply per five-hour session.
That distinction is central. A five-hour session is one measurement window, while the plans also have separate weekly caps. The post says Anthropic does not disclose the exact size of those weekly limits. As a result, the 20x figure cannot by itself be read as a promise that the $200 plan provides four times the total weekly capacity of the $100 plan.
The alleged weekly comparison is much narrower
The figures attributed in the post to the proposed class action are:
Max 5x: around 3.5 times Pro’s weekly usage
Max 20x: around 6–8 times Pro’s weekly usage
Comparing those figures produces a difference of roughly 1.7 to 2.3 times between the two Max tiers. That is the basis for describing the $200 plan as providing around twice the weekly usage of the $100 plan, rather than four times as much. The post also says the relationship can be lower depending on the model.
These figures are allegations cited by the post, not a definitive public table of Anthropic’s weekly caps. Since the exact limits are not disclosed, the estimates should not be treated as confirmed plan specifications.
What the distinction means for plan comparisons
The two usage measures describe different kinds of capacity. A session multiplier indicates how much usage may be available during a concentrated five-hour window. A weekly cap governs how much usage can be spread across the entire week. For a heavy user, the weekly ceiling may matter as much as the session allowance: if that ceiling becomes the binding limit, a larger per-session multiplier will not necessarily produce a proportionally larger weekly allowance.
Prospective subscribers therefore need to compare three separate questions:
How much usage does each tier allow in a five-hour session?
How much usage does it allow across a week?
Does the relationship change depending on the model being used?
Until the weekly limits are disclosed, the 5x and 20x session labels alone are not enough to estimate total weekly usage. The reported legal challenge centers on that gap between a prominent session-based multiplier and the separate weekly constraint—not on whether a 20x session figure exists at all.





0 comments
No approved comments yet. You can start the conversation.
Leave a comment